Lillian Banks Memorial and Scholar Award Scholarships- $1,000 Each 

​The Brevard Federated Republican Women have established a scholarship in the amount of $1,000 in honor of long time member and former BFRW Legislative Chairwoman Lillian Banks.

Any female or male high school student who is a registered Republican is eligible to apply; applications are submitted to the BFRW Board by Friday, April 28, 2018 for review and selection of the recipient.  A copy of the voter registration card must be provided with the application. Preferably, the candidate is a resident of Brevard County. However, this requirement may be waived at the discretion of the BFRW board members. Applicants must be enrolled in either an Associate or Baccalaureate Degree program at an accredited educational institution. Proof of enrollment must be provided.

Each potential recipient must complete the official application form. The application form is available on the official BFRW website, An official copy of the most recent high school/college transcript must be presented in a sealed envelope from the issuing agency. The grade point average and scale should be clearly indicated on the transcript.

Three letters of recommendation including the name, address, and phone number for the author of each letter are required. (At least one letter should come from a representative of the applicant’s high school/college, or the agency issuing the transcript. One letter should come from an agency/organization where the applicant has performed volunteer/community service, been a volunteer in a political campaign/election, or been actively involved in the legislative process. It is highly  suggested that a record be kept of volunteer service and the supervisor in order to facilitate meeting this requirement.)

A one-page, typed essay written by the applicant stating the reason the applicant wishes to be considered for this scholarship and his/her career goals should also be included.

Other considerations to be included:  Awards or honors received by the applicant.

Questions may be directed to Diane Norwood-Steven, the Scholarship Chairperson, at

If you have any questions please call BFRW at 321-727-1212.